The Rowan Amber Mill brand new track on The Forest / The Wald compilation

14th November 2016

The Rowan Amber Mill have a brand new track on the A Year in the Country compilation that goes by the enigmatic title The Forest / The Wald, which is released today. The compilation includes a track from The Rowan Amber Mill entitled Ocarina Procession which is just about as as exotic as the title suggests. Other tracks come from a wide range of talented music makers such as: Polypores, The Hare and the Moon ft Alaska, David Colohan, Sproatly Smith, The Seance, Lutine and Richard Moult - to name but a few.

The CD is available in a couple of different editions directly from here: A Year in the Country.

Here is some info from The Forest / The Wald press release:

"The Forest / The Wald is a study and collection of work that reflects on fragments and echoes of tales from the woodland and its folklore. Such wooded realms are deeply embedded in our folk and popular culture stories: their boughs and undergrowth being seen as places where spirits both good and bad may reside, visitors from elsewhere in the cosmos have laid down roots or where unwary travellers can come undone. The album takes as one of its initial reference points Electric Eden author Rob Young's observations of the roots of the word folk as being “…the music of the ‘Volk', a word born of the Teutonic Wald, the wild wood where society was organised ad hoc, bottom-up and frequently savage…”; places where rituals endured and perplexed their heirs. Although today they are often tamed and managed it takes but a wandering into the heart of one to realise just how near to being far from the comforts and securities of civilisation we are. In amongst The Forest / The Wald can be found expressions of greenwood rituals performed in the modern day, echoes of fantastical childhood rhymes, sylvan siren calls that tremble through tangles of branches, electronics pressed into the summoning of otherworldly arboreal creations unearthed amidst the creeping thickets and elegies to woodland intrusions, solitudes and seasons."

Here is the track listing:-

1) The Abney Ritual – Bare Bones

2) Hawthorn Heart – Magpahi

3) Deep Undergrowth – Polypores

4) Fantastic Mass – Time Attendant

5) Waldeinsamkeit – David Colohan

6) The Hand Of Auctumnus – Richard Moult

7) Tomo's Tale – Sproatly Smith

8) A Whisper In The Woods – The Hare And The Moon ft Alaska

9) Ocarina Procession – The Rowan Amber Mill

10) Trees Grew All Around Her – The Séance with Lutine

11) Equinox – Cosmic Neighbourhood

12) Where Once We Wandered Free – A Year In The Country

The Rowan Amber Mill song was played on the 23rd October edition of the BBC Radio Lancashire show The Wire and is available to listen to on BBC iPlayer here

If you want to keep up with all the minutiae of what the Rowan Amber Mill, are getting up to, then why not check them out on their FaceBook, Twitter or Instagram presences. At these places, they regularly reveal their internal monologues, musings, recommendations and quite a lot of photos of trees (and rural and coastal landscapes). Why not pop over and say hello!

The Rowan Amber Mill links

Recent Rowan Amber Mill news